CONTEMPO Ten contemporary piano duets for intermediate pianists (2008) Op. 94 

Opus number: op. 94

Title: Contempo

  1. Angry Tango
  2. Wistful Waltz
  3. Revenge Blues
  4. .Unlucky Love
  5. Southern Serendade
  6. Risky Romance
  7. Tap Dance
  8. Melancholy Ballad
  9. Dazzling Duo
  10. Swan Song

Instrumentation: Ten contemporary piano duets for intermediate pianists

Commissioned:  A. Ramon Rivera

Dedication: A. Ramon Rivera

Date written: 2008

Length: 25 minutes

Premiere performance: January 30, 2010, Today’s Youth Perform Today’s Music, students of A. Ramon Rivera

Program Notes: Contempo, Op. 94, is a set of ten piano duets (piano four hands) written for Angel Ramon’s NEC Preparatory School seminar. The work is notable for its use of the American vernacular and indigenous rhythms of American popular music. Contempo was written in 2008 and first performed at the annual NEC “Today’s Youth Plays Today’s Music” in January of 2009.