HARMONIUM, Eight Poems for Brass Quintet (1997) Op.48

Opus number: 48

Title: Harmonium: Eight Poems for Brass Quintet after Wallace Stevens

Instrumentation: two trumpets, French horn, trombone, tuba

Date written: 1998, Boston

Performances: Bala Chamber Ensemble, ????

Length: ca. fifteen minutes

Program notes: “Harmonium” is a suite arranged from a set of madrigals, “A Cry Against the Twilight,” op. 42, composed in 1996. Harmonium is the title of Stevens’s first book of poems and all of the poetry that I set comes from that book. The poems inHarmonium are concerned with the metaphysical relationships between life and death and the natural elements.