Archives for

Fifteen Three-Part Sinfonias (2015) op. 127

Title: Fifteen Three-Part Sinfonias

Instrumentation: solo harpsichord or piano

Dedication: to Paul Cienniwa and Angel Ramon Rivera

First performance: February 6, 2016, New England Conservatory, Keller Room. Students of A. Ramon Rivera

Duration: about 25 minutes

movement titles:

1. Morning Has Broken
3. The Holly and the Ivy
4. Scarborough Fair
5. Africa
6. St. Anne
7. Greensleeves
8. Sumer is icumen in
9. Coventry Carol
10. L’homme Armé
11. BACH
12. At the River
13. Gathering Music
14. Gaudeamus Igitur
15. Dies Irae


Gathering Music (2015) op. 124

Title: Gathering Music

Instrumentation: Organ solo

First Performance: September 13, 2015


Now Shall My Inward Joy Arise (2015) op. 128

Title: Psalm Tune no. 1 “Now Shall My Inward Joy Arise” based on a hymn by William Billings, “Africa”

Instrumentation: a capella choir (SATB)

First Performance: April 2015, choir of First Church Boston, composer-conductor

Performance time: about 3 minutes


Spirit of Love (2015) op. 126

Title: Spirit of Love

Instrumentation: for unison congregational singing and piano

Text: by composer

Spit-it of Love,
Teach us to give,
Come and walk be-side us
Show us how to live.

Spir-it be good,
Spir-it be kind,
Show us some for-give-ness,
Bring us peace of mind.

Life is full of dan-ger
Met at eve’ry turn.
Fill us with com-pas-sion,
Grant us time to learn.

Spit-it of Love,
Teach us to give,
Come and walk be-side us
Show us how to live.

Show us how to love.


At the River (2014) op. 125

Opus number: op. 125

Title: At the River (2014)

Instrumentation: soprano solo and orchestra, 2-2-2-2, 2-2-0-0; timpani, tam-tam, chimes, vibraphone, bass drum; harp; strings

Commissioned: Boston Landmarks Orchestra

Date written: 2014

Length: five minutes

Premiere performance: July 17, 2014, Teresa Wakim-soprano, Boston Landmarks Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins-conductor, WGBH Fraser Performance Studio. Live performance streamed via WGBH.

Subsequent performances:

Program notes: Commissioned and written for the Boston Landmarks Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins-Conductor to open the summer season of 2014. At the River is based on the text of the familiar hymn tune with an original setting.





Remembering Fay (2015) op. 133

Solo Trumpet, Harp, and Twenty-Two Strings, Op. 133

Commissioned: by Boston Landmarks Orchestra

Premiere: September 15, 2015 Sanders Theater,
Boston Landmarks Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins, conductor

Duration: about 5 minutes


First Piano Sonatina op. 123 (2014)

Opus number: op. 123

Title: First Piano Sonatina I. Allegretto II. Andantino III. Scherzino

Instrumentation: solo piano

Written for: wrritten for Angel Ramon Rivera for his birthday in January of 2014

Date written: 2014

Length: six minutes

Premiere performance: April 6, 2014 3:00 p.m.The Rivers School Conservatory, Rivera Recital Hall, Annual Seminar on Contemporary Music for the Young, performed by Emily DeJesus

Subsequent performances:

Program notes:



Dazzling Duo op. 122 (2013)

Opus number: op. 122

Title: Dazzling Duo

Instrumentation: Tenor Saxophone and Piano

Written for: James Houlik

Date written: 2013

Length: 12′

Premiere performance:

Subsequent performances:

Program notes:



July 20, 2014 King’s Chapel, Boston, Ma 11:00-12:00

Psalm 23

Thomas Gregg-Tenor
Carson Cooman-organ

Page 5 of 61« First...«34567»102030...Last »